Oh no, I am becoming a ‘terminally nice old lady’

Lesley on her blog has been thinking about the risks folks take when they blog.

Blogging makes people both more aware of and more outspoken about difficulties within their institutions, which makes them edgy…. I would love to know what everyone else thinks.

I’ve enjoyed reading the comments that bloggers have posted on her blog as they have made me reflect on the way I blog.

Oh dear, I’m afraid that I have become a terminally old lady and boring as I only post when I have something nice to say.  The trouble is that much of what is going on in the institutional church makes me cross and want to SHOUT.  All my posts would have to be written in capital letters.  I am glad that there are people prepared to stick their heads above the parapet and comment and challenge much that is going on.  I enjoy reading their blogs immensely because they help me to think through what my position is.  I am not a wordsmith, others can articulate what they believe so much better than me.

My blog will never be ‘edgy’ but I started it because I get so mad at the institution I felt I needed to record some of the tiny glorious moments that happen in God’s kingdom in my little patch.  Most of the time I feel a bit pedestrian, plodding on, fairly insignificant, and not making much of a difference to this world.  It is therefore important to me to mine all those glorious little moments, however small and then rejoice in them.

This is what I said on my about page when I started this blog:

It has been said that rural ministry is like walking through treacle backwards. This is my attempt to celebrate glorious things; every step forward, every shiny moment when I recognise God at work.  I love this place.  I love the people. Treacle is sweet and it can be a blessing.

Sometimes we need to remember the nice stuff and why we do this job.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh no, I am becoming a ‘terminally nice old lady’

  1. Penny Nash says:

    I, too, use my blog for purposes other than working out my frustrations (mostly) although some of my readers prefer my occasional rants to my usual reflections. Because I think this is what we are called to do as priests – find God at work in the world and hold that up for others to see – I try to keep that in mind and focus as I blog even if that is not precisely what I am blogging about.

    On the other hand, there is the prophetic voice, and I admire those who use this widespread public forum to call us and the world to see and acknowledge injustice.

  2. LOL – that made me laugh.

    My closest friend says I can’t see a parapet without sticking my head over it!

  3. Anita says:

    “The trouble is that much of what is going on in the institutional church makes me cross and want to SHOUT. All my posts would have to be written in capital letters.”
    I would tend to say shout, write in capital letters. For the sake of your own soul. And write about glorious things too. John and Judas on either side of the King of Glory; we don’t see things accurately until we take in both the glorious and the not-yet glorious.
    Anita
    Not yet a terminally nice old lady.

  4. ramtopsrac says:

    Please stay just as you are, as I’ve only recently found you, and started following because of your glorious things.

    How do I use my blog? Carefully. I don’t understand the depth of many of the debates that go on, and fear my own views are based on information that goes only surface deep, but a faith that is much, much deeper and far more certain. That is why i rarely comment on the issues of the moment.

    I do however occasionally us it to ask theological questions when preparing sermons, post the resulting sermons, share family news, ask questions about things that aren’t going to cause a problem in the parish I serve as a lay minister, and grapple with may place of service to God.

    Not many people read it, but it does form some sort of spiritual journal where I can log things. Does it matter?

Leave a Reply

