Funeral essentials

 

 

I discovered yesterday that there are a number of little extras one needs for funerals in the snow.

 

 

  • Lots of layers on, thick socks and black leather gloves
  • A  thick cloak. (Lovely retired priest bequeathed me his. Older lady in the village cut a foot off the bottom that was moth eaten and hemmed it up for me.)
  • Wellies.  There was 6 inches of snow in the graveyard. (I kept them on under my cassock for the whole service, pitying the ladies who arrived in black shoes with heels)
  • A kind neighbour with a 4 wheel drive truck who picked me up and took me there as our village was cut off apart from tractors.
  • Funeral directors with nerves of steel.  The deceased weighed 24 stone.  It took eight men to carry the coffin up a slippery slope of compacted snow into church and then likewise into the graveyard 2 miles down the road.
  • Tea. The cup the church warden thrust into my hand as I had finished, thawed me out nicely.

I am thanking God that we didn’t have to cancel and it was all very dignified with no Dibley or Monty Python moments.

Ps. The picture of the cloak is from jandmsewing.com. That’s not me folks. I was much more bulgy yesterday with all those layers!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Funeral essentials

  1. benny@somail.it says:

    Well done Sarah – my guess is that you probably needed nerves of steel as well!

    One more essential suggestion is never to tempt fate by including the prayer which starts:

    “Unto him that is able to keep us from falling ….”
    (Pastoral Services page 273)

    Who says litugists don’t have a sense of humour?
    God Bless
    Benny

  2. MadPriest says:

    Green wellies in Advent?

    I knew this would happen. This is exactly the sort of liturgical chaos that happens when you start ordaining women to the priesthood. 🙂

  3. MadPriest says:

    It’s not too late. As you contemplate the message of John The Baptist today, REPENT AND CHANGE YOUR WAYS! I suggest it might be a bit cold to go and dunk yourself in the nearest river – perhaps a nice warm shower after church will do.

Leave a Reply

