I like being an amateur

In the past I have been told to my face that I am a volunteer so I must be an amateur. There was an appalling piece recently on the radio when a retired FIF bishop said that general synod was overrun by women clergy with too much time on their hands.  Did he not realise how offensive that would sound? It is just plainly wrong anyway.  There are still less women than men on general synod , so it is hardly overrun by women and there is an election, so any clergy woman there has been voted there by her peers both male and female.

So when some well meaning person tells me that because I’m not paid what I do must be a hobby I usually bristle but I am beginning to wonder if they are right.

Today I had an epiphany.  I have been attending a Myers-Briggs workshop.  In one of the exercises there were two posters at opposite ends of the room.  One said, ‘I have to get all my work done before I can play’ the other, ‘I can play at any time’.  We were asked to go and stand in the room where we thought we were in relation to the two statements.  Immediately all the stipendiary clergy clustered at one end of the room and looked at me with jealousy as I stood miles away at the opposite end of the room.  (I’m an INFP). You see I genuinely love what I do and it really does feel like I am playing.  I don’t have to do it.  I am not doing it to put food on the table.  I can do it because I have time on my hands. Sometimes, I have to pinch myself that I get to do the best job in the world.

SO, WHY ON EARTH am I conforming to the institutional rules, jumping through their hoops, and stressing about getting my category changed so that I can apply for jobs that will tie me down and stop me playing?  I must be stark-staringly bonkers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I like being an amateur

  1. Nik says:

    ah but being mad is a pre-requisite for the job!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

