Prayer holiday

It still interests me how hard I find it to pray (apart from the odd chat) whilst on holiday.  See what I wrote a year ago here.  I no longer let myself feel guilty that for a short time having broken free of the rhythm of work I also take a break from the regularity of prayer, I’m sure God doesn’t mind.

 But it sure is nice coming back.  As I returned to work this morning and felt myself sinking back into a rhythm I read the Day1 meditation from the Celtic Daily Prayer Book.  Perhaps we need to leave that gap now and again to allow God to flood back in.

DAY 1

It is a difficult lesson to learn today,

to leave one’s friends

and family and deliberately

practise the art of solitude

for an hour or a day or a week

For me, the break

is most difficult…

And yet, once it is done, I find there is a quality

to being alone that is

incredibly precious.

Life rushes back into the void,

richer

more vivid

fuller than before!

  Anne Morrow Lindbergh

This entry was posted in prayer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

