When faith wobbles

Expressions of faith
Lord, You have always given
bread for the coming day;
and though I am poor,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always given
strength for the coming day;
and though I am weak,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always given
peace for the coming day;
and though of anxious heart,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always kept
me safe in trials;
and now, tried as I am,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always marked
the road for the coming day;
and though it may be hidden,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always lightened
this darkness of mine;
and though the night is here,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always spoken
when time was ripe;
and though you be silent now,
today I believe.

(from the evening office, The Northumbrian community) 

I have always found this expression of faith really helpful especially when things are a bit tough.

We used it yesterday at St Ms.  For a number of reasons we are feeling a bit wobbly at the moment and need to affirm that God is good.  We went with the Hebrew reading about faith.  While the kids made a huge tent with the play parachutes and pretended to be the ‘wandering, travelling race, the people of God’, we talked about Sarah and Abraham, holding fast to God’s promises and moving forward. We then put some Keith Duke music on (in our journeying today), affirmed our faith and watched stars floating on water gradually open with the names of those who were on our hearts.

All good stuff

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

