Confirmation dithering

Sometimes you have to make a decision on the little information you have and then stick with the choices you have made.  I know it is my tendency to be the world’s worst procrastinator so I have to make quick decisions and then act on them or nothing gets done.  (It’s Myers-Briggs fault for telling me I’m INFP).

Last year we started confirmation classes at the middle school hoping that a confirmation service with the bishop in school would become an annual event.  Eight children were confirmed in a very exciting service. This year, Bishop G is booked to come in July so last term I sent out letters to the parents of year 8 children.  It’s hard enough standing up in front of the whole school when there is a large group being confirmed, it is much more daunting if there are only a few of you, so when there was only one response and that from a child that hadn’t been baptised, I decided to cancel the year 8 chaplain who was coming in to do the preparation and apologised to the bishop’s secretary.  The head of course was disappointed.  I should have left it there but dithered (always a bad move- it always causes more stress). I heard myself standing up in assembly last week encouraging the kids and telling them what a great thing it would be to do. (Holy Spirit always has the last laugh! It’s a good job I can laugh at myself too!)

 The result. I now have a confirmation class that I will have to run myself and NO bishop.

OK, I think.  Easy-peasy, I’ll just take them up to the cathedral for the next confirmation there.  Lovely liturgical chaplain gets back-it’s all booked up this year.  So I am now ringing round all the neighbouring deaneries to see if I can slot them in there.

I will not dither.  Four kids will be confirmed, and one baptised even if I have to take them to four different venues but Lord, couldn’t you have arranged for them to all be in my parishes?  Life would have been so much simpler.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

