Silence my soul

Silence, my soul,

Resist the voices

that  clamour for the place you owe the Lord.

As grief needs tears and joy needs laughter,

confusion craves a deeper word.

                                              (John Bell)

Sabbatical week 3.  Funeral directors rang at 8am this morning!!  The temptation is to dive straight into work and deal with their request immediately.  There have been a number of occasions in the last three weeks where I have found myself at my desk before the children have even left for school.

NOT GLORIOUS!

Wise spiritual director has always said that a priest who prays in her study soon becomes a priest that doesn’t pray at all.  I am already missing the discipline of meeting up with a colleague to pray. Even though it was sometimes sporadic, it did give a grounding and rootedness to the praying alone.

So, I am resisting all the voices that are clamouring for my attention before I give God some space.  This morning I put this song on from Iona to help me pray.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

