Let your yes be yes and your no be no

How on earth did I end up being a village hall trustee?  I can’t give this enough of my time and attention at the moment so I went to tonight’s management committee fully resolved that I would tell the chairman that I could not continue after the AGM. Unfortunately at the end of the meeting he went round the table asking for members comments and I was the last to speak.  By the time it was my turn, over half the trustees had announced their resignation and I didn’t have the heart to say I would be going too.  I’m such a coward!  But I do need to say no.  I can’t go on saying that I will turn up when I know that I cannot.  I can’t keep filling in the gaps every time I can’t find a member from church to do something. Enough is enough.  It is time to start saying no.  It is time for a no to really mean a no.

It’s amazing how a weeks holiday helps you to get your priorities right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let your yes be yes and your no be no

  1. Alan Crawley says:

    You and several thousand other vicars I suggest.

    I think saying no is the most important thing I am still learning in my curacy – and I bet it gets harder when I get some responsibility!

    Go for it!

Leave a Reply

