Ashes and what they didn’t teach you at theological college

Dithering again

There is a little bit of ash left over from last year and I’m wondering whether it will be enough for tonight.  I’m also wondering whether I can get away with no sermon or homily.  It all depends on who and how many turn up.  I suspect the retired clergy will outnumber the laity. (The retired clergy include a lovely lovely arch deacon of whom I am in awe of and who must think that I am incredibly slap dash)

Should I make some more ash and if so where shall I do it?  Last time I naively burnt some palm crosses in our utility room.  I didn’t think about how bad the smoke would smell.  That’s something they forgot to tell me at theological college!  There is probably some ancient long forgotten ritual for doing it correctly and with decorum.

Shame it’s raining, otherwise I’d send the kids out into the garden.  They like burning things.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ashes and what they didn’t teach you at theological college

  1. Kathryn says:

    A few ashes go a very long way, I find…I’ve just done the morning congregation, a dozen of us, with no appreciable impact on last year’s left-overs….I really struggled to turn my palm crosses into effective ash last year, not just because of my broken arm: after a few abortive attempts that smelled ghastly and produced very little the best results were achieved placing palms under a really hot grill til they caught, then removing the heat and letting them burn themselves out there.

    I didn’t write a homily for this morn, and don’t plan to for this evening either, but spoke a bit off the cuff about the purpose of Lent and the wonder of forgiveness – which seemed quite OK, though I can see that a bevy of retireds would skew things somewhat.

    It’s hard to think that any words of ours could have the same impact as the process of ashing…I’m still jellified after doing it for the 10.00ers!

Leave a Reply

