The cock will crow…

if I tell ‘P’ to keep warm for a third time. ‘P’ is our friendly ‘gentleman of the road’.  He spends his days walking between all the churches in a twenty mile radius of here. ‘P’ makes me smile but he also makes me feel guilty.  On Sunday when the temperatures had been well below freezing all week I spotted him struggling up church lane.  Of course I was in a hurry to get to my next service.  P’s timing is impecable -always when I’m in a hurry.  His opening line was ‘Hello S, I slept in the field last night.’  How on earth does he survive hypothermia?

So, on the way to All Saints I feel guilty again. Should I have bundled him into the car and driven him to the shelter?  The thing is he hates it there!  He seems to prefer being on the road.  He is not comfortable indoors and if you give him a sandwich he’ll leave half of it.

Sorry I didn’t have time to chat P! Third time lucky! But I did say a prayer to ask God to keep you warm tonight and confessed my guilt for passing you by again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

