If you don’t ask you don’t get

Yes, I know that!  What I don’t know is who to ask.  We need a lot of money to pay for the loo project at St A’s, more than the tiny congregation there can raise through coffee mornings, auction of promises, fetes and the like.  So who do I ask?

Yesterday, I took three of the PCC to a rather good training day run by the diocese.  It was called, ‘successful fundraising’.  We heard talks from a succession of speakers from grant making bodies, local funding advisory services and a professional fund-raiser (from the cathedral).  We also heard stories from various churches that had been successful in raising large sums of money.

But as the day went on I got more and more despondent.  The rather good Charities Information bureau is based in Devizes and only covers Wiltshire.  Humpf! Most of the grant making bodies we heard from, we do not fit the criteria.  My biggest frustration is with the Heritage lottery fund who won’t fund new facilities.  I had a long chat with their gorgeous development manager.  I have lots of whizzy ideas for projects that would fit all their priorities  for learning, involvement, access and so on but I can’t do them without a loo.  And being told that they might fund a portaloo for a one off event is not enough.  How does that fit their criteria of looking to the future?

Today the gospel reading is about the woman searching for the lost coin.  Heigho! Looks like this woman is going to have to trawl through the directory of grant making trust in search of that elusive body who is going to give us all the money we need.

Persistence is the name of the game!  But just tell me.  Who do I ask?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If you don’t ask you don’t get

  1. Kathryn says:

    Eeeek…Church loos were once a speciality of mine, as it was the drama around installing one in our village church in the Cotswolds in the early 90s that kick started me on the journey towards ordination.
    We pretty much emptied our reserves pot, received a few helpful but not over significant donations (hundreds when we needed thousands) from charitable trusts, and fund raised for all we were worth. It took a couple of years, – and the church was left with no fall back funds, but I would say it was definitely worth it in terms of enabling the church to stand as a community resource in a village with no hall. It also enabled the after school group that made the greatest difference to me recognising my call – but that’s another story.
    Willl pray…not much else I can offer!

Leave a Reply

