Going home..

It is likely to go quiet here for the next few days.  I am travelling to take a family funeral.  Kind retired clergy are covering my Sunday services for me.  I am so very grateful as it means I don’t have to be thinking about a Sunday sermon which leaves me time to think carefully about what I want to say at the funeral.

I find myself having to read two sentimental poems and am not sure if I will be able to do so with any sort of integrity.  Discerning friends will probably guess what they are.  I want to care for the family as best as I can and respect their wishes but as a Christian priest I will be holding on to hope in the resurrection.  Death is not nothing at all.  It hurts deep inside us where things matter. Sentimental poems just don’t do it for me.  Good liturgy does. Tomorrow I will be pointing to a hope in things yet to come.

Jesus said, “I am the resurrection and life”

Hear the good news.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going home..

  1. Kathryn says:

    Love, prayers & blessings go with you. Take care of yourself in all this too xxx

Leave a Reply

