wedding and scout hymn

Yesterday a very shy, very very young couple came to discuss hymns and readings for their wedding next month.  It took ages and lots of encouragement from me to draw out from them what they would like.  So it was a shiny moment when they said they would like to sing the scout hymn.  I had to admit that I didn’t know it. So together in my study we looked it up on the internet. The very shy groom then sang me the tune (it is the same tune we sing to Tell out my Soul).  Here are the words.

Now as I start upon my chosen way,
In all I do, my thoughts, my work, my play,
Grant as I promise, courage new for me
To be the best, the best that I can be. 

Open mine eyes to see things as I should,
That I may do my daily turn of good,
Let me be ready, waiting for each need
To keep me clean in thought and word and deed. 

So as I journey on my chosen way,
In all I do, my thoughts, my work, my play,
Grant as I promise, courage new for me,
To be the best, the best that I can

Marriage should be a creative relationship. If this couple can help each other to become the best that they can be, created in the image of God I’m sure they’ll do just fine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

