Post communion prayer

Strengthen for service, Lord,
the hands that have taken holy things;
may the ears which have heard your word
     be deaf to clamour and dispute;
may the tongues which have sung your praise
be free from deceit;
may the eyes which have seen the tokens of your love
     shine with the light of hope;
and may the bodies which have been fed with your body
     be refreshed with the fullness of your life;
glory to you for ever. Amen

This is today’s post communion prayer.  I can’t be the only one that is despairing at what is going on in the Anglican communion.  It is very hard to love the church at the moment especially as the arguments are getting so vitriolic.  The line in the prayer, ‘ may the ears that have heard your word be deaf to clamour and dispute’ struck me this morning.  I can’t be deaf to it but perhaps I can decide to not let it rile me.  I love the line,’may the eyes which have seen the tokens of your love shine with the light of hope’.  God give me shiny eyes and a hopeful heart.

This entry was posted in inclusive church, prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post communion prayer

  1. Kathryn says:

    Amen
    It was a little pointed praying those words in this situation, wasn’t it…I’m hampered too by a sense that in my parishes the wranglings of the Anglican Communion are not just second order issues, they are completely off the map…so while I want to man the baricades and start a revolution, I’m likely to be greeted with a response somewhere on the “Yeh what?” spectrum.
    So I guess we just keep on praying pro tem.

Leave a Reply

